Allan Porter Memorial Award

Friends of Ostomates Worldwide (Canada), or FOWC, presents an award to individuals or organizations whose volunteerism has helped to further the goal of FOWC: to assist those less fortunate in other countries by supplying ostomy products and information.

All products supplied are donated. All sorting, matching, and repacking of material for shipment overseas are done by volunteers. Although FOW Canada first began collecting and shipping supplies in the early 1980s, it was 1989 when the first award was presented. It was called the President’s Award and presented by the president of FOW Canada.

The first recipient of the Award was the Hamilton and District Ostomy Association, which had made available its offices as a collection point for excess ostomy supplies. The award was presented to Allan Porter, President of the Hamilton Chapter, by FOW Canada president Maria Siegl. Subsequently, the award was renamed the Allan Porter Award, and in 1995 after Al’s death, at the suggestion of Ron Bartlett, the Award was named the Allan Porter Memorial Award.

Award recipients are:

  • 2021 – Adeline & Daryl Eggen of St. Albert, AB
  • 2019 – Hollister Canada
  • 2016 – Calgary Ostomy Society, Calgary, AB
  • 2014 – CB Medical, Calgary, AB
  • 2012 – Dave Page*, Winnipeg, MB
  • 2010 – United Ostomy Support Group, Ottawa Inc.
  • 2009 – Sally Poon, Market Drugs Medical, Edmonton, AB
  • 2008 – Dianne and Jim Garde* & Starkman Surgical Supply Ltd, Toronto, ON
  • 2007 – Winnipeg Ostomy Association, Winnipeg, MB
  • 2006 – Conval-Aid, Ottawa, ON
  • 2005 – Ostomy Toronto, Toronto, ON
  • 2004 – Astrid Graham*, Ottawa, ON
  • 2003 – Vancouver Ostomy Chapter, Vancouver, BC
  • 2002 – Patrick Lapointe, Montreal, PQ
  • 2001 – Lorne Aronson, Toronto, ON
  • 2000 – Nicole Lapointe, Montreal, PQ
  • 1999 – David Metcalfe*, Victoria, BC
  • 1998 – Michael Durey, Aurora, ON
  • 1997 – Richard Olley, Oakville, ON
  • 1996 – Ronald Bartlett*, Hamilton, ON
  • 1995 – Dielwen (Di) Bracken*, Toronto, ON
  • 1994 – Mark Siegel, Toronto, ON
  • 1993 – Norma Stringer*, Bancroft, ON
  • 1992 – Les Kehoe, Toronto, ON, and Jean-Pierre Lapointe, Montréal, PQ
  • 1991 – Claude Campbell*, Hamilton, ON
  • 1990 – Bette Yetman*, Dartmouth, NS
  • 1989 – Hamilton and District Ostomy Association, ON
  • * Deceased


The FOWC Lifetime Achievement Award can be presented to people who have shown outstanding service in two or more of the following criteria:

  • Been a member in good standing of FOWC or substantially contributed to FOWC for a minimum of 10 years
  • Show outstanding support for FOWC through the promotion of FOWC by word of mouth or in print
  • Participate in FOWC activities in Shipment packing, FOWC exhibits and events or collection of supplies for shipment to 3rd world countries
  • Attend Annual General Meetings
  • Serve on the FOWC board of directors


Le Prix d’excellence APSC pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations est présenté aux personnes en qui ont offert des services exceptionnels à APSC selon au moins deux des critères suivants:

    • Être membre du APSC ou contribué en règle depuis au moins 10 ans
    • Montrez un soutien exceptionnel à APSC en promouvant APSC de bouche à oreille ou par écrit
    • Participez aux activités de APSC dans le domaine de l’emballage des envois, des expositions et événements ASPC ou de la collecte de fournitures pour expédition dans les pays du tiers monde
    • Assistez aux réunions annuelles
    • Assistez aux assemblées générales annuelles au conseil d’administration d’APSC
Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: